Sometimes it just takes longer.

Howdy all,

With my last post, I stated that I would soon be on the air. Since, I’ve learned that things don’t always go the way you expect. Okay, maybe I already knew that, but it doesn’t make the past few days any less annoying. At least not so in terms of me getting my new hobby off of the ground.

I wrote that last blog entry at approximately 3:00, at the Milwaukee Public Market, where we had been sitting for about an hour and half enjoying a great lunch. I even got the wife some flowers while we were there. I had a wonderful panini, she tried some clam chowder, but wasn’t all that impressed. We then go to some of the shops in the area and then finally head off to the radio store, arriving at about 4pm. It’s at this time I learned that I misread the store hours, and they had been closed for over an hour. Doh! We were in the neighborhood too, all it would have taken was a slight change in our schedule and we wouldn’t have ruined the trip. I ended up leaving work early yesterday to make the hour and a half drive back up to Milwaukee, and I’m now the proud owner of a Yaesu FT-60r radio with a Hustler MX-270 mag-mount whip for the car. Since, I’ve listened in on a few local repeaters, but I seem unable to transmit. Since I so far don’t have a true Elmer to help me along, I’m going to take it as a sign that I’m just not using the radio properly. It’s something that I’ll dig into a bit more in the next few days. KC9SJQ IS on the air, just a few days later than expected.

The rest of my weekend was great though. The Milwaukee public market is a great place, quiet atmosphere, really nice dining area, good food for now and for the home, free wifi, pretty much everything you could want. They even have a nice little flower shop with descent prices. It’s just the thing to put a smile on the wife’s face. On the way back, we spent some time at the Zion, IL lake front parts, which was also beautiful. We practically had the place to ourself, and for a brief moment I forget it was May in Illinois, but instead March in some idealized Virgina Beach. And tonight, we’ll have all of our church friends over for a BBQ and bonfire. I love to have space with burning rights. We’re really glad we didn’t get that condo, even if we did buy at the high of the housing bubble and our property currently has negative equity.

About Grant Wagner

General class ham: KC9SJQ https://grantwagner.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

