Long over due update

Yeah, yeah, I know. It’s been what, almost three months? And have I done? Not much but read and dream.

The tiny house is still my inspiration, but I have made no progress or effort. I really gotta get off my butt.

I decided that the curved roof may be more effort that it’s worth, instead opting for a traditional shed style roof. I also think that I need a bit of a kick to get me started. I’ve starting looking around at local commercial sheds. I’m hoping to have a team come by and put my shell up in a day, which I can then insulate and finish at my leisure.

To be honest, my greatest consern is money. I just don’t want to spend it, because as a family we really don’t have it. This is always going to be just a project, a hobby for me, so it’s hard to go up to the wife and say, “I want to build a tiny house, mind if I drop $4K over the next year”? If it was a sole habitat, that makes it amazing, but it’s little more than a man cave on the back of our larger residence. One that will need a new roof and a garage soon.

On the plus side, I got a winlink compatible packet radio at a local hamfest. No sound card radio interface, at least not yet. I need to complete the cable for it. Still no General, but the wife is getting a Tech License as a form of support. How awesome is that! She’s a total non-geek and she’s doing this for me. That reminds me, I need to register her for the exam…done! I also need to study for mine!

I also picked up a new netbook, an Asus 1015PE. I didn’t really need it, but it was a bit of an emergency. We went off on vacation and forgot all of our toys, so I get a new laptop and she get’s a new camera. Worked out well I thought. This new guy is a lot speedier than my old one. The slightly larger 250GB drive has some needed extra space. A combination of specifically designed main board and the atom 450 enhancements give me a solid 7 hour battery life on the same sized battery as my old one (which did 4 when new). Of course, the box said 12 hours, but it always seems bad that way. Even the keyboard and the touch pad feel better. This time, I decided to switch from my trusty Debian to Ubuntu as well.

Thankfully I made back some of the money by selling my older 1000HA.  The new owner is also quite happy with it.

Finally, I’ve recently been reading OffGridRV (http://offgridrving.com/). This guy is awesome and a very unique take of simply living, having built an RV from scratch. His solar water heater also has me very interested. I may just have to try that when I get a chance.

Bye for now.

About Grant Wagner

General class ham: KC9SJQ https://grantwagner.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Long over due update

  1. Dizzy-Dick says:

    Found you on John Well’s site. He is a nice guy, got a tour of his place and petted Benita when on trip down that way. You and I seem to have a few things in common, except I am an old codger (grin). We are both hams, I am wb3dzy, my original call. I was born and raised in Pennsylvania and lived there until 1979.

    I also do engineering design work, although now I am sort of semi-retired. My wife and I are interested in off grid living, but at our ages are not too sure about taking such a drastic step.

    If you look at my website, don’t expect too much. I did it from scratch using what little html I know, so it isn’t too fancy but it works. You can go to my personal pages to get more info into our lives. I also try to write a blog every day. Called Dizzy’s Wanderings and Wonderings.

    A lot of years ago, the Hams gave me the nick name Dizzy Dick because of my call which is wb3dzy. The suffix of DZY is what did it. OK, I am writing a comment here not a book. Just wanted to say Howdy

    73’s

Leave a Reply

