Unboxing the panda

 

Another piece of my off grid ham shack / office came into my lap today. In the past, I spoke of the beagle board.  This is a beautiful little board, 3″ square, hosting a TI made Arm processor, a quarter gig of ram, and all the necessary jacks for a complete desktop replacement. Since that time, it has been replaced with the Pandaboard. A dual core chip at 1GHZ,  full gig of ram, onboard usb hub and ethernet adapter for only an extra $24 makes this a very impress upgrade.

In the box was only the circuit board itself, although also shipped was a HDMI -> DVI video cord and a appropriate AC power supply. I had previously prepared a SD card for my os as outlined here, and used apt-mirror to create a mirror of the repositories on my laptop. After bootup and the initial system setup, I swapped all the links in /etc/apt/sources.list to point to my mirror and did a full upgrade and installed the ubuntu omap tools package. This is one system ready to go.

About Grant Wagner

General class ham: KC9SJQ https://grantwagner.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unboxing the panda

  1. Dizzy-Dick says:

    Wow, you got a lot of neat stuff.

  2. Grant Wagner says:

    It amazes me that this little board runs the exact same software as my desktop, and runs pretty comparably to a desktop which I paid a fortune for some 8 years ago. The 3W of power under load is a great deal less than the 150 of the machine it’s replacing.

Leave a Reply

