How about a little nerd chess!

I found this great sight today. How is a ham father to teach his children the great game of chess? Why, by using all the spare radio connectors and adapters he can find, of course!

http://www.leapsecond.com/pages/chess/

In secondary news, Randy finished looking at my Kenwood TR-7625, and it seems to be is good working order after cleaning up the power cable. However, in my mucking about, I removed an insulator from a power transistor, allowing the tab of the TO-220 case to short to the common ground heat sink chassis. I would have never know than that was an issue. It turns out that I did more damage than the original user. Now it’s in good working order. a TNC cable has been ordered from BuxComm. Sweet Stuff! Now to find the power knob which has fallen somewhere in my car.

About Grant Wagner

General class ham: KC9SJQ https://grantwagner.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How about a little nerd chess!

  1. Dizzy-Dick says:

    Glad you got the rig figured out. I like the chess set.

  2. Dizzy-Dick says:

    Me again. Just wanted to tell you I took a trip to the nearest ham store and got me a duil band hand held. Got it on charge. Now I can take my time fixing my old duel-bander. My HF rig has 70 cm, 2 meters, and 6 meters on it along with oll the HF bands. Can use it if I need a buch of power. Still having trouble learning to program it, you know I am an old tube era ham.

    • Grant Wagner says:

      Ain’t anything wrong with that. Congrats! My first radio, and for over a year my only was a dual band had held. A little clunky to use pretty much anywhere, but it worked out well with the extra antennas I had in the car and at the home. I can pretty much work any station I can hear, so I’m not really clear as to what more power buys you.

      It does take a bit to program, but my new to me kenwood has no programming at all, and there is a sweet simplicity to that. I have a little cheat sheet of all my local repeaters next to it, and I’m good to go.

      Still don’t have an HF rig. I can’t imaging getting one anytime soon. $800 or more is just to much for me to spend on a hobby. At least all at one time.

  3. Dizzy-Dick says:

    It is my HF rig (IC 706 MkIIG) that I am having trouble progamming. The hand held seems quite simple, or not. Will get it on the air this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

